Rayalaseema is going to horticulture hub very soon: AP CM

Rayalaseema is going to horticulture hub very soon: AP CM

  Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 10:54 AM

Anantapur : Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu reiterated that the drought-hit Rayalaseema region would soon turn as a rich horticulture hub after the completion of HNSS project and diversion of Krishna river from Srisailam. He confidently said that Polavaram project would be completed by 2019.
"At least 140 tmc ft of water will be diverted towards Rayalaseema through Srisailam soon after completion of Polavaram project," the Chief Minister observed.

He offered Jalaharathi at Bukkapatnam, the biggest tank in Rayalaseema region that filled with Krishna waters, as part of Janmabhoomi-Mavooru concluding session in the district. Addressing a public meeting, the Chief Minister recalled that late chief minister N.T. Rama Rao dreamt of filling Rayalaseema with Krishna waters through Handri Neeva Sujala Shravanti, when he had opportunity to fill the dried tanks, as part of the project.


Mr Naidu said the Bukkapattanam tank sets an example for irrigation development in the state as the tank having 0.56 tmcft of water, would recharge more than 12,000 borewells in surrounding villages, in addition to providing irrigation to 10,000 acres in Puttaparthi. Referring to ongoing works of KIA motors, the Chief Minister said that it is investing about Rs 14,000 crore on the car manufacturing unit only because water sources are available.

Further, he hoped many industries would get established in Ananta-pur in the coming days. The Chief Minister, recalling about introduction of groundwater saving activities, said water-level increased from 3 to 8 metres in the state. Reacting to representations by the leaders, Mr Naidu directed the irrigation authorities to complete the project report to issue GO for Perur reservoir on the day of slain party leader, Paritala Ravi's death anniversary and completion of Madakasira branch canal by February, during Lepaskhi celebrations. Ministers Devineni Umamaheswara Rao, K. Samuel Jawahar, Kalava Srinivasulu and Paritala Sunitha accompanied the Chief Minister.